Skip to main content

National Institutes of Health

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development

2019 Annual Report of the Division of Intramural Research

Board of Scientific Counselors

* Nominee

Elizabeth Bonney, MD, MPH, Acting Chair
7/1/17 – 6/30/22
Immunobiology, Molecular Biology, Obstetrics and Gynecology
Professor, Director of Research Division
Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences
University of Vermont College of Medicine
Kate G. Ackerman, MD
7/1/16 – 6/30/21
Developmental Biology, Genetics, and Pediatrics
Associate Professor, Departments of Pediatrics and Biomedical Genetics
University of Rochester Medical Center
Hugo J. Bellen, DVM, PhD*
7/1/19 – 6/30/24
Genetics, Neuroscience, Model Organisms
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Professor, Departments of Molecular and Human Genetics and Neuroscience
Baylor College of Medicine
Serdar E. Bulun, MD
7/1/16 – 6/30/21
Obstetrics and Gynecology
John J. Sciarra Professor and Chair
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Chief, Division of Obstetrics and Gynecology–Reproductive Biology Research
Prentice Women's Hospital
Nancy Carrasco, MD*
7/1/19 – 6/30/24
Molecular Medicine, Pharmacology, and Physiology
Professor and Chair, Department of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics
Vanderbilt School of Medicine
William T. Dauer, MD*
7/1/18 – 6/30/23
Neurodevelopment and Behavior, Rare Diseases and Genetics, Neurobiology
Director, Peter O’Donnell Jr. Brain Institute
Professor of Neurology and Neurotherapeutics, and Neuroscience
Lois C.A. and Darwin E. Smith Distinguished Chair in Neurological Mobility Research
UT Southwestern Medical Center
P. Ellen Grant, MD*
7/1/19 – 6/30/24
Newborn Medicine, Radiology
Director, Fetal-Neonatal Neuroimaging and Developmental Science Center
Professor of Radiology and Pediatrics
Harvard Medical School
Frances E. Jensen, MD, FACP
7/1/15 – 6/30/20
Professor and Chair, Department of Neurology
Co-Director, Penn Medicine Translational Neuroscience Center
Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
Deborah L. Johnson, PhD
7/1/17 – 6/30/22
Molecular and Cellular Biology
President and Chief Executive Officer of Keystone Symposia
Professor, Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology
Baylor College of Medicine
Ursula Kaiser, MD*
7/1/19 – 6/30/24
Endocrinology, Diabetes and Hypertension
Chief, Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes, and Hypertension
Co-Director, Brigham Research Institute
Brigham and Women's Hospital
Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
Kojo A. Mensa-Wilmot, PhD
7/1/16 – 6/30/21
Cellular Biology
Professor and Head
Department of Cellular Biology
University of Georgia
Errol Norwitz, MD, PhD, MBA*
7/1/19 – 6/30/24
Obstetrics and Gynecology
Louis E. Phaneuf Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Tufts University School of Medicine
Chief Scientific Officer
Chair, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Tufts Medical Center
Eric Vilain, MD, PhD
7/1/15 – 6/30/20
Molecular and Human Genetics
James A. Clark Distinguished Professor of Molecular Genetics
Director, Center for Genetic Medicine Research
Children’s Research Institute
Children’s National Medical Center
Martha M. Werler, DSc
7/1/17 – 6/30/22
Professor and Chair, Department of Epidemiology
School of Public Health
Boston University

Top of Page