Skip to main content

National Institutes of Health

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development

2021 Annual Report of the Division of Intramural Research

Board of Scientific Counselors

* Nominee

Elizabeth Bonney, MD, MPH, Chair
7/1/17 – 6/30/22
Immunobiology, Molecular Biology, Obstetrics, and Gynecology
Professor and Head, Division of Reproductive Sciences, Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences, University of Vermont College of Medicine
David R. Beier, MD, PhD*
7/1/21 – 6/30/26
Pediatrics, Genetics
Professor in Pediatrics and Director, Center for Developmental Biology and Regenerative Medicine, Seattle Children’s Research Institute
Hugo J. Bellen, DVM, PhD
7/1/19 – 6/30/24
Genetics, Neuroscience, Model Organisms
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; Professor, Departments of Molecular and Human Genetics and Neuroscience, Baylor College of Medicine
Nancy Carrasco, MD*
7/1/19 – 6/30/24
Molecular Medicine, Pharmacology, and Physiology
Professor and Chair, Department of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics, Vanderbilt School of Medicine
William T. Dauer, MD
7/1/18 – 6/30/23
Neurodevelopment and Behavior, Rare Diseases and Genetics, Neurobiology
Professor and Director, Peter O’Donnell Jr. Brain Institute, UT Southwestern Medical Center
P. Ellen Grant, MD*
7/1/19 – 6/30/24
Newborn Medicine, Radiology
Professor of Radiology and Pediatrics, Harvard Medical School; Director of Fetal and Neonatal Neuroimaging Research, Endowed Chair in Neonatology, Boston Children’s Hospital
Deborah L. Johnson, PhD
7/1/17 – 6/30/22
Molecular and Cellular Biology
President and Chief Executive Officer, Keystone Symposia; Professor, Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology, Baylor College of Medicine
Ursula Kaiser, MD*
7/1/19 – 6/30/24
Endocrinology, Diabetes and Hypertension
Chief, Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes, and Hypertension; Co-Director, Brigham Research Institute, Brigham and Women's Hospital
Mary C. Mullins, PhD*
7/1/20 – 6/30/25
Developmental Biology
Department of Cell and Developmental Biology, Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
Errol Norwitz, MD, PhD, MBA*
7/1/19 – 6/30/24
Obstetrics and Gynecology
President and CEO, Newton-Wellesley Hospital
Linda Overstreet-Wadiche, PhD*
7/1/20 – 6/30/25
Professor, Department of Neurobiology, University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Medicine
Sandra L. Schmid, PhD*
7/1/21 – 6/30/26
Biophysics, Cell Biology, Molecular Biology, Model Organisms
Chief Scientific Officer, Chan-Zuckerberg Biohub
Martha M. Werler, DSc
7/1/17 – 6/30/22
Professor and Chair, Department of Epidemiology, School of Public Health, Boston University

Top of Page